New FCC Chair Confirmed by the US Senate

You are here

New FCC Chair Confirmed by the US Senate

Jun 26 2009

Julius Genachowski was confirmed by the U.S. Senate June 25, 2009 as the next chairman of the Federal Communications Commission. In addition, Commissioner Robert McDowell was approved for a full term at the Commission.

In addition, President Obama announced his intention to nominate Meredith Attwell Baker (Republican) and Mignon Clyburn (Democrat) as new FCC Commissioners. Each will also now have confirmation hearings in the Senate.

The men and women who are confirmed as Commissioners make decisions on many issues that impact people with hearing loss: television captioning, relay services, broadband, just to name a few. HLAA looks forward to working with the Commissioners in the coming months and years.